Advert.

Do NOT tell your scammer he is posted here, or report their accounts as it puts others at risk!

No story, but lots of experience.

Stories we feel worth sharing with others are moved here.

No story, but lots of experience.

Unread postby Pinky » Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:44 am

I can't tell you that I really know what it's like to be scammed, but I can tell you about my experiences in playing with these scammers. I think I know them well.

Most of you know me from another scam-fighting site. My background is that I am almost 60 years old and have been single for over 16 years. I once worked for a university computer department when the internet was getting started and I dealt with the trouble that mischievous and sometimes devious college CompSci students got into with our computers. I recognized early on the potential for both good and great harm that these computers could cause in our lives. I know that they are merely tools, but weapons in the wrong hands.

When internet matchmaking began, I was thrilled. I understood the power of databases, matching statistics, communications and the wide reach of the web. I was there on the first sites. I've met a lot of real people, but so far, not matched up with The One. I'll never give up hope (this week anyway :) ). However, about 6 or 7 years ago, I started getting strange contacts from men outside of any distance I was willing to go for a date. I have never been interested in strictly a virtual relationship (though there are some out there who are), but these guys were persistent. They all said they were world travelers and willing to settle down with me here in Utah. Now, let me tell you . . . Utah is a pretty state and I love it here, but most people would never dream of living in such a politically conservative state if they didn't have to. Just for starters, there are many restrictions over the consumption of alcohol, that the 'gentiles' as we call them, complain bitterly about.