Site logo

Advert.
Switch to full style
Ask here if you're unsure whether or not you're dealing with a scammer, and we can help. This section is hidden from search engines.
Post a reply

Not sure if this guy is a scammer

Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:06 am

Hello,
I hope you can advise because I'm not sure what to think.
I've been talking to guy I met on a dating site for just over 2 months. We've met face to face a few times (I've been to his house and he has been to mine).
What made me suspicious is that he asked me for money to pay for the balance on his car lease.
He stayed in contact when I said I couldn't help him but although we have spoken it doesn't feel the same as before. I don't know if this is just in my head or it's a gut feeling.
He also made a big deal asking me to suspend my dating profile very soon after we met but he kept his active.
Other things that have made me concerned:
He's very insistent on video calls (I've always said no);
He told me he loved me even before we met (I thought that was very weird but then he seemed fairly normal until the recent request for money);
Since I viewed his profile yesterday he deleted all his pictures and a fair bit of content.
Is this normal?

Re: Not sure if this guy is a scammer

Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:08 pm

If you had never met face to face I'd say Yes, 100% scam. Since you've met in person I'd still ask is this someone you would wish to continue a relationship with? You've only know him for two months and he's begging for money. You might look into his job status and other things and decide to find someone more financially stable.

In the end, go with your gut. If you think something is wrong then it probably is and you should cut all ties.

Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:10 pm

We deal with online scams only here, however, everything you said about him fits all of the signs of an online scammer except for this:
We've met face to face a few times (I've been to his house and he has been to mine.